Stepping Into Your Next Big Dream


Image

My girlfriend burst out laughing over lunch when I told her an excerpt from a journal entry I wrote when I was 18.  It said, “Lord, thank you for my new job at Suzy Shier, it’s my dream job.”  At that time and point in my life it really was my dream job.  I’d been slugging away at three jobs – all in the food industry.  This would be the first job that when I finished my shift I wouldn’t smell like food. I could actually go straight from work to hang out with friends without having to shower.

So, it was a dream.

Fast forward 20 years, and my life has taken me on the journey of a lifetime.  I thought I would be a missionary and head to Africa.  Instead, I have spent the last 20 years working in the corporate world.  I’ve landed a few roles that were also “dream jobs” for me for different reasons –  more responsibility, trying something new, or working with people that I knew would inspire me.

In all cases,every time I’ve stepped into the next stage of my life there has been one thing in common. A step of faith.  My favourite book that I have given to many is called “The Dream Giver“.  In it, a man named Ordinary leaves the Land of Familiar in pursuit of his “Big Dream”.  It is that first step out of the Land of Familiar that is always the scariest. 

Watching a movie unfold with a person chasing their dream is always inspiring but it never gives the viewer the full impact of their choices.  When you do something new, something totally different you are actively choosing to leave your comfort zone – often to work with people you don’t know, doing something in a different place – with nothing but “hope” on your side that it will work out.

It’s not always been a smooth ride.  I’ve made that big step and ended up meeting the most amazing people.  One of those people is now best friend and she refers to the season and team we worked on as “Camelot”.  Every day we worked with people we really loved, who inspired us, and it didn’t feel like work. I’ve had that happen more than once, but I’ve also experienced the opposite.  So is it worth it?

The answer is simply yes and for this one reason.  What has driven me, and what I hope will drive you is this single thought. “What if…” I never want to look back and say “If only…”  The journey may not be smooth, it may even be rough, but you will be stronger for what you experience. 

So go on, take that leap of faith, and step into your next big dream.

Leave a Reply

